August Visit to Washington (D.C.)

I don’t think there is a time when Washington, D.C. is vacant. There are always crowds everywhere! On Saturday, August 9th I made a pilgrimage “down the road” as we say here in the capitol suburbs. I got a lot of exercise and had a good walk. I didn’t take a lot of pictures (a few), but I did see some perspectives I hadn’t noticed before.  I did my best to avoid the crowds, but a few got in the way.

_D8L2510a5

In the background the Jefferson Memorial sits reflecting the afternoon sunlight while the Japanese lantern is partially shaded. The Japanese Lantern is the site of the first planting of the Cherry Blossoms that were first planted in March 1912.

The Sycamores along Independence Avenue stand out in their white vestige while all around them the land and foliage is green.

_D8L2513a3

The Korean War Memorial, while a sight by itself, it is accompanied by a marble wall that happens to show the reflection of the soldiers in their field as well as the engraved images on the wall itself.

_D8L2520a1

What I also found interesting is that the faces of the Korean War Memorial soldiers were those of old men, not young boys as they actually were. I don’t know if there is something that the sculptor meant to show by this, but it was significant in my mind.

_D8L2518a3

Finally, things are tough all around, but for the squirrels in West Potomac Park, the visitors may be more of a resource than the usual sources.  This little guy was searching the trash until I came along.  He started to run away, but when he saw I was hanging around and that he was still safe, he made an overture to see if I had anything for him!

_D8L2540a1

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment